

## **April 17, 2023**

## Re: Proposed Federal Electoral Districts Redistribution

Dear MP Michael Coteau.

Please accept this letter on behalf of Councillors of the City of Toronto in support of your advocacy against the current iteration of the Federal Districts Redistribution map. Toronto is one of the fastest growing cities in North America as well as one of the most diverse cities and yet this recent iteration removes one of our wards (Don Valley East), which will result in less representation for our constituents. As Toronto Councillors, we strongly object to this plan that could eventually reduce Toronto City Council by one seat.

Toronto has unique and complex needs that require strong representation to ensure good governance and policies that can help us continue to be a strong contributor to the Canadian economy.

We strongly urge the federal government to maintain at a minimum 25 federal ridings in Toronto in order to preserve Toronto's current representation at all three levels of government for Toronto's diverse cultures and to promote effective representation.

Thank you for welcoming our voices as this important decision is considered.

Warm regards,

Vincent Crisanti City Councillor Ward 1, Etobicoke North Amber Morley City Councillor Ward 3, Etobicoke-Lakeshore Gord Perks City Councillor Ward 4, Parkdale-High Park Frances Nunziata City Councillor Ward 5, York South-Weston James Pasternak City Councillor Ward 6, York Centre Anthony Perruzza City Councillor Ward 7, Humber River-Black Creek

Anthony Jenusson

M.S. C.Sle

Mike Colle City Councillor Ward 8, Eglinton-Lawrence Alejandra Bravo City Councillor Ward 9, Davenport

Ausma Malik City Councillor Ward 10, Spadina-Fort York Dianne Saxe City Councillor Ward 11, University-Rosedale Josh Matlow City Councillor Ward 12, Toronto-St. Paul's Chris Moise City Councillor Ward 13, Toronto Centre

Paula Fletcher

Paula Fletcher City Councillor Ward 14, Toronto-Danforth Jaye Robinson City Councillor Ward 15, Don Valley West Jon Burnside City Councillor Ward 16, Don Valley East

Nick Manhar

Shelley Carroll City Councillor Ward 17, Don Valley North Lily Cheng City Councillor Ward 18, Willowdale Brad Bradford City Councillor Ward 19, Beaches-East York

Gary Crawford City Councillor Ward 20, Scarborough Southwest Michael Thompson City Councillor Ward 21, Scarborough Centre

Nick Mantas City Councillor Ward 22, Scarborough-Agincourt Jamaal Myers City Councillor Ward 23, Scarborough North Paul Ainslie City Councillor Ward 24, Scarborough-Guildwood Jennifer McKelvie City Councillor Ward 25, Scarborough-Rouge Park

Cc: Commissioner of Elections Canada